//
you're reading...
Foodie

Spicy Meat Loaf and Masala Salad

by Mireille Bourgeois

Here’s a quick blog post. My boyfriend’s parents gave me an Indian cook book and there are way too many recipes I now have to try. This is one of them. It’s straight out of the recipe book, but it’s one of those recipes I really feel can be adapted to many tastes. Add more of one spice, or lessen another, etc.

Also, I’ve got a Masala salad going on. I’m sure I could make my own dressing which I’m definitely going to try. I have to say that the recipe for this salad is directly taken from the salad dressing label. So overall, this is not a very original meal, BUT these two recipes together make for a really good combination. The graded potatoes in the meatloaf makes it nice and fluffy and the salad is wonderfully crunchy as a side to this comfort food. This recipe was for my BF who is sick this week. I always cook spicy when someone’s sick, to cleanse the crap out of colds. Also, I’m posting this for my mother who I think, would love this recipe!

So here’s a quick blog post about my meal tonight!

4-5 eggs (I used 4 because I didn’t quite have a full pound of meat)
1 pound of ground beef
2Tbsp of ginger pulp
2Tbsp garlic pulp
4 fresh green chillies (I used three green finger chillies and one small jalapeno) chopped
2 small onions chopped
1/2 Tsp tumeric
2 cups of fresh coriander (I only had dried and used 2 Tbsp. I’m totally trying the fresh one next time I think it will be much more flavorful)
one medium potato graded
salt to taste

Preheat oven to 350F. Whisk 2 eggs until fluffy, then pour into buttered/greased loaf pan. Mix in meat, ginger, garlic, 3 of the green chillies, half the onions, turmeric, coriander, one beaten egg and the salt. I won’t lie, I tried to mix with a  spoon but the best method is with your hands. Knead those ingredients together!

Press meat mixture into the loaf pan, on top of the egg. It’s ok if some of the egg overflows on top of the meat. Bake for 45 minutes. whisk the last egg and the last jalapeno/green chili (chopped). remove loaf from oven, pour the egg/pepper mixture on top and put back in the oven until the egg sets (about 15minutes). Let cool for a few minutes before cutting.

For the masala salad, you’ll need:

3-4 carrots depending on the size
half an english cucumber
raisins
silvered almonds

The ratio of these ingredients aren’t precise, I add what looks good and balanced. I recommend slicing the cucumbers and then cutting them in half again. The carrots look best julienned and then throw in some almonds or any other nuts you’d like. Sadly, I don’t have the recipe for homemade masala dressing, because we love this store-bought one so much (it is my weakness…). But I’m vowing today to look for a more healthy alternative… Either way, this is a staple salad in our house. Enjoy.

PS: these pictures are killing my soul. I need to get an SLR camera, or I should never photograph in the evening kitchen light ever again!

Discussion

4 thoughts on “Spicy Meat Loaf and Masala Salad

  1. Yum! Both the meatloaf and the salad sound and look wonderful. I’m writing down the recipes!

    Posted by Welcome Company with Danielle | November 29, 2012, 2:54 am
  2. Wow look delish!!! Will try soon.

    Posted by Monique | November 29, 2012, 2:33 pm
  3. Looks delicieux!!!

    Posted by Gail McKibbon | November 29, 2012, 11:21 pm

Leave a Reply

Calendar

November 2012
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Dec »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Archives

