//
you're reading...
Foodie

Basic Salsa for those Garden tomatoes!

by Mireille Bourgeois

Here is a really quick post about basic salsa for preserves or eating right away. We had a bit of hurricane weather in Halifax recently, lots of rain which I’ve learned can cause gourds and tomatoes to split. I was waiting to pick my tomatoes until more of them were red but the ripe ones were splitting open so I decided not to waste them. The problem, or so I thought, was that I only had a few tomatoes to work with. I found a mason jar, and looked around for recipes to adapt. It turned out really well.

  • 3 to 4 tomatoes (med/lg), diced (from my garden!)
  • 1-2 green onions, finely diced (from my garden!)
  • 1 sweet red pepper
  • 1 hot pepper, with seeds, finely diced (from my garden!)
  • 1 large clove of garlic
  • 1-2 Tbsp chopped cilantro (from my garden!)
  • 2 Tbs apple cider vinegar

NOW for the important bit. This recipe does not have enough vinegar in it to preserve (can), so I recommend freezing it if you don’t want to eat it right away. I warn you about this because I did in fact try to preserve it in a mason jar, but then discovered mould on the top of the salsa. Maybe the canning process didn’t take (as you can see, my method wasn’t well-informed: there should be at least one inch of water covering my jar), but just to be sure, I’ll freeze my future jars. It’s VERY important not to eat the salsa if you discover it has gone bad, bacteria from bad preserves is extremely dangerous.

SO, below you’ll see pictures below of my preservation technique, but instead just use a plastic jar, no need to process in water, and pop it into the freezer instead!

Enjoy!

Discussion

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Pickled Jalapeño Peppers | hobbyjunkies - April 6, 2013

Leave a Reply

Calendar

September 2012
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Nov »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Archives

