//
you're reading...
Foodie

Lime, Lemon and Basil Sorbet

by Mireille Bourgeois

Hello Summer! I’m not into sweets. Tasting cakes and cupcakes and pastries are nice, but I’d rather pies, tarts, sour and salty for my desserts. One taste I’ve always loved in summer drinks and desserts is citrous tastes. Very refreshing.

My boyfriend’s cousin loaned us a few KitchenAid attachments to try out and my favorite so far is the ice cream maker. I will definitely be getting myself one as soon as he reclaims his. What I love about the ice cream process is that you can pretty much put anything in there, add a bit of sugar and it will turn out delicious. I’m still working on the consistency but I think my biggest mistake so far is that when I heat up the sugar in the water/milk/ect, I don’t let it cool down long enough before the ice cream making process.

I’ve been growing my own herbs this summer, and so I have the most beautiful sweet and thai basil you’ve ever seen. I’m in love. So I decided to make a basil inspired sorbet (I didn’t have any milk).

You’ll need:

-3/8 cup of fresh (or bottled, but of course fresh is always better) lime juice
-1/8 cup of lemon juice (you can change the ratio, I basically used all my lime and then topped it up to 1/2cup of juice in total)
-2 TBS of lime or lemon zest
-2 cups of fresh and washed basil leaves (I put in a few thai basil leaves for a kick)
-2 1/4 cups of water
-3/4 cups of sugar (you can adjust it to taste. I don’t like my sorbet too sweet so I took it down from the original recipe of 1 cup)

First you must mix together the sugar and water in a pot. Bring to boil and leave to boil for one minute. Remove from heat and let cook for ten minutes or longer. Next time, I will let it cool completely or pop it into the fridge to speed up the process.

 

 

Pour into food processor with all other ingredients. Process (with a splash guard if you have one!) until smooth. There will be some basil leaves floating, it’s ok if they’re not totally blended since the oils have mixed and flavored the juices. Strain through a fine mesh colander. I kept the basil and lemon zest bits to make something else with it. I’m not sure what but I hate wasting…

If you have an ice cream maker go through your regular process; Pouring slowly as your container turns on the #2 speed to desired consistency and then popping in the freezer for an hour or so before eating. If you don’t have one, pour into a roomy plastic container and place in freezer. go back to it every 30 minutes to fluff up the mixture with a fork until it reaches proper consistency. You could also freeze these into popsicles if you so chose.

 

SO GOOD. Enjoy.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Calendar

July 2012
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Archives

