//
you're reading...
Foodie

Healthy Breakfast Cookies

by Mireille Bourgeois

I’ve been making variations of this cookie for years. I try to make a full breakfast as much as possible, but my mornings are precious, consisting of yoga, making lunch, occasional dinner prep, and general preparations like coordinating showers and sometimes walking to the bus stop 45 minutes away. Sometimes the 1.5hours I give myself in the morning just isn’t enough to fill my belly full of food after my two cups of coffee 😉 I started making these breakfast cookies as energy snacks for my running around town days, and now I bring them on the bus for my breakfast.

The recipe is interpreted of the Heart and Stroke Foundation Breakfast Cookie recipe and changes depending on what I have in my cupboard. I also make mine the size of my palm because I like a breakfast that goes a long way. I doubled the recipe this time, so the pictures attached reflect that. The below recipe will make about a dozen large cookies. Here’s what I put in the cookies this time:

  • 1/2 cup (125 mL) brown sugar
  • 2 cups (500 mL) rolled oats
  • 3 cups (750 mL) all purpose flour (sometimes I use 1c. whole wheat and 2 c. white flour)
  • 1 tbsp (15 mL) baking soda
  • 1 tsp (5 mL) baking powder
  • 1 tsp (5 mL) ground nutmeg
  • 1/2 tsp (2 mL) ground cinnamon
  • 1/3 cup (85 mL) ground almonds
  • 1/3 cup (85 mL) wheat flakes
  • 1/4 (50mL) shredded coconut
  • 1/4 cup (50 mL) canola oil
  • 1/2 cup (125 mL) applesauce
  • 1/4 cup (50 mL) water
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 1/2 tsp (7.5 mL) vanilla extract
  • 1/4 cup (250 mL) golden raisins
  • 1/4 cup (250 mL) cranberries
  • 1/4 cup (50 mL)chopped figs
  • 1/2 cup (50mL) chocolate chips

Mix dry ingredients first, then add raisins, cranberries and figs. Coat dried fruit with flour mixture and mix in. Make a well in the centre of dry mix and add wet ingredients. Stir. Because I made a double batch, the stirring was REALLY difficult and required too much muscle even for my KitchenAid mixer. Next time, I’ll do one batch at a time. Scoop out on greased cookie sheet (or silicone baking sheet) and bake 8-10minute at 350 F, for small to medium sized cookies and up to 15-20 minutes for large cookies. Don’t bake too much, dark golden brown is too dark. These cookies, due to their low fat content can be dry if baked too long.

I think I’ll try adding a banana next time to make them nice and moist. I store them all in the freezer. When I want to bring one with me, I either drop in a bag to bring with (it will thaw completely in an hour or so) or if I want it right away, I’ll put it in the microwave for 40 seconds and pack in a bag to bring with.

Enjoy!

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Healthy Breakfast Cookies

  1. They look great. Thanks so much for sharing. Always looking for healthier snacks for my kids, and I bet making small versions of these would go over just great.

    Posted by Little Sis | June 10, 2012, 2:56 pm

Leave a Reply

Calendar

June 2012
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Archives

